The magic of the Holiday Train Show and 2013 in review

Wow, Christmas and the New Year’s came by fast!

I’m currently still in Chicago just chilling and relaxing with some of my favorite people. Being back in my old home city has made me realize how much I miss having that broader support network so close to home.

For some reason this year didn’t feel as festive as previous years. It might have to do with the fact that there was no mulled apple cider or wine this year. (Back in my Chicago apartment Miranda and I did really festive baking things that helped with the Holiday spirit.)

But, this year I got to go see the Holiday Train Show at the New York Botanical Gardens.

This post just includes a few of my favorites, but you can see more here

Since it was a train show, it had a bunch of miniature trains.

And some famous buildings.

It’s a real eye pleasure if you’re into miniatures, trains, or Alice-in-Wonderland-esque vibes.

One of my favorite places in  Manhattan.

The Guggenheim museum

Old Penn Station



It still looks quite majestic even as a miniature.

The attention to detail in these miniatures was delightful.



I just loved how every thing about these miniatures was done so purposefully.

They even had bridge replicas

I’m so glad 2014 is finally here. Out with the old 2013 and in with the new 2014. Like I said in my last post, 2013 was an amazing and weird year. When I look back on it I feel very ambivalent. I wouldn’t call it my worst year, but if I were to measure it by length of time of different events that happened, it was pretty terrible and difficult year interspersed by a few high points, which were more or less my travels to Europe, my new job, and my move to NYC. At the same time, I recognized that I grew a lot this year and I hope 2014 brings new and exciting things for me.

Leave a Reply

