Hello again weekend brunches, I missed you

Manhattan is an expensive city to live in. Of course there are plenty of ways you can save money, (via living like an extreme cheapskate) but why would you want to do that when there are so many delicious and fine eats in the city?

While the past 2 1/2 months have mostly been me settling in, I have had some very delicious eats, especially for brunch.

A couple of my favorite brunches have been 1. Maison Kayser and 2. Chicken and Waffles at Maharlika.

The last time I went to Maison Kayser was about a year ago on the UES. UES is a bit of a hassle to get to from Columbia, but fortunately there is a now a Maison Kayer in Columbus Circle serving delicious things, like this iced mocha latte
DSC_3292DSC_3293

And some baked goods.
DSC_3294
DSC_3296
You can’t go to these types of places without sampling some of their viennoiserie. Personally, I liked the chocolate croissant (top) more than the chocolate brioche (bottom). The chocolate brioche was more like a chocolate brownie, so will probably skip next time (unless I’m craving a brownie).

And we can’t forget to eat our savory things.
DSC_3297
The smoked salmon and asparagus cocottes are excellent.

Maharlika was a new place for me. It’s Filipino food with an American spin. I ordered the chicken and waffles.


Batter-less chicken with taro waffle. I liked the fact that the chicken is crispy but not to the point that crumbs are getting everywhere. (Being batter-less helps, I suppose.) I also thought the taro waffle had just the right amount of fluffiness and sweetness.

Trying to update more regularly again, so hope to post again soon.

One thought on “Hello again weekend brunches, I missed you

Leave a Reply

