Birthday celebration at Mihoko’s 21 Grams

It was Ray’s birthday last month, so to celebrate we went out to eat.

I guess it has been a while since we’ve gone somewhere nice, but Mihoko’s 21 Grams ended up being the place.
DSC_3036
DSC_3068
We even got dressed up for it. Unfortunately, I hadn’t been to a fancy place in a little while and committed a few faux pas here and there. Dressing up also didn’t preclude me from being a complete klutz (or sitting in the wrong chair, ~oh well).

We got the four course, but it came with some nice amuse bouches, like this lovely chicken veloute.
DSC_3033
It was absolutely delicious, rich and creamy. During the excitement of drinking my chicken veloute out of the egg, I managed to fumble the egg all over my side of the table and spill veloute down the table cloth and onto my dress. It was kind of a sad way to start off the meal. Fortunately, the rest of the meal went okay.

I didn’t spill any more amuse bouches…
DSC_3042
I can’t remember what the first one on the left was called. The second was a cheese ball which was kind of like an arancini, which could be dipped in the cucumber yogurt mix on the right.

and a side of baguette and brown butter…
DSC_3041
DSC_3040
I didn’t know what brown butter was until this meal. It has this nice nutty flavor, but does taste less rich than normal butter.

I had the sashimi to start…
DSC_3045
DSC_3046
I thought the plating was lovely.

Ray got the Alaskan King Crab Millefeuille. There was some sort of sweet paste layered in that I thought was a nice addition. It kind of tasted and looked like red bean paste to me.
DSC_3048
DSC_3049
DSC_3047
DSC_3050
It came with a baby crab too!

Shrimp Uni Avocado.. It was surprisingly good!
DSC_3052
I’m not sure why, but when i ordered it I really wasn’t expecting much. I just wanted to try their uni. Instead, I found myself savoring every bite. (You can see on the table cloth where I spilled veloute.)

The Wagyu Tartare was decent.
DSC_3054
However, it kind of felt lacking in some aspect.

I got the lobster pearl
DSC_3058
It was only okay. I think I would have preferred Ray’s rack of lamb.

I personally really enjoyed the lamb. The candied walnuts and the cherry tomatoes were a nice touch.
DSC_3060
DSC_3061
I think Ray said it was too overwhelming to eat the entire thing, but this is after 2 other reasonably sized courses and some amuse bouches. I guess i was wasn’t hungry by the time the main course came.

But of course, there is always room for dessert. (The plating for these were gorgeous.)
DSC_3069
DSC_3070
DSC_3071
DSC_3072
DSC_3073

Leave a Reply

