Munich Part 2: Eating like the Bavarians with Butter & Würst

One thing I noticed when I was in Munich was the lack of fresh vegetables. There was plenty of fruit, but I didn’t see as much fresh greens. I’m not sure if this was because we were tourists and ate at touristy places that pushed wurst and pretzel on our plates, or if eating raw greens simply isn’t as big of a thing as it is in the states. Regardless, by the end of my trip, I was missing my raw leafy greens like kale, arugula and spinach.  (I’m so sorry my arteries.)

Despite the lack of raw veggies, the food there still a lot fresher than some places in the US and reminded me of the freshness I ate in Milan.

My second night there, we tried to go to Hofbrauhaus, the more tourist location, but alas, it was way too crowded.
DSC_2585
We sneaked a peak inside. It was definitely very lively!

Since we couldn’t find a seat inside Hofbrauhaus, we ran across the street and found a nice enough restaurant and just ate there. Most of these restaurants that feature Bavarian specialties come with complimentary pretzel.
DSC_2587
These are perfect for soaking up your au jus from your wurst or sauerkraut.

This place Wirtshaus Ayinger, which we stumbled upon by accident, was delicious.
DSC_2591
DSC_2592
Above we have pork loin and fresh fish. Mmmm.. fried and buttery goodness. The potatoes that accompanied the fish tasted as if they were boiled in butter. Not like potatoes covered in butter, but potatoes boiled in butter. Every bite you took was smothered in butteriness. It was a wonderful mixture of starch and butter. All the buttery goodness of the food I ate in Munich left me wondering how Bavarians don’t have higher rates of heart disease than the rest of the world. (I thought I was going to get a heart attack at some point during the week.)

And of course, you can’t forget the beer.
DSC_2589
Smaller more manageable drinking sizes this time.

On another day when we were exploring downtown Munich and walking around Marienplatz, we tried a tourist trap place called Ratskeller. The service was a bit abysmal and the food underwhelming, I did learn that these cheese and meat spreads are a Bavarian specialty!
DSC_2785
DSC_2786
Now if only it tasted as good as it looked. The spreads were unfortunately bland.

The only redeeming quality of Ratskeller was the view (well, you know, it was/is a tourist trap.)
DSC_2784
I wouldn’t really recommend this place, but it might be fun to walk in, get a good look at the architecture, and then walk out.

On other meal/eating occasions, we had more wurst, like curry wurst.
DSC_2865
DSC_2866
When I initially ordered it, I thought it was going to be something like wurst cooked in curry. In reality, it was rather underwhelming. It’s wurst with tomato sauce and curry powder sprinkled over it. A little disappointing, but it makes a nice snack. It kind of tasted like hot dogs and spicy tangy ketchup.

And of course we also made time for dessert on occasion
DSC_2760
I noticed that Germans, or at least Bavarians, like their chocolate and fruit kuchens!

And of course, there was one night when we were so tired from walking around that we just wanted to stay in. Thank goodness for room service!
DSC_3006
DSC_3007
DSC_3008
It was a feast of chantrelles and dumplings thoroughly soaked in truffle oil, butter, and cheese. And some schnitzel and frites. Finally, for dessert, passion fruit panna cotta with bruleed peach.

Leave a Reply

