Euro-trippin’ Milan Parte Quattro: Ciao Milano!

After a two weeks of not posting anything, I’m trying to re-orient myself and adjust to absence. I hadn’t felt like writing the last week because I was just too angry, but I think I’m at a point where I can let my anger go a little bit.

So it’s with Cat’s memory in my thoughts that I write this entry.
412112_2122108009847_457745754_o
Mar 9, 1989 – Apr 22, 2013

My last full day in Milan was pure sugary indulgence. As it was Sunday, Ray and I were worried that a lot of places would be closed, but we were very wrong. We found a little cafe, that I no longer remember the name of, and bought a bunch of different pastries for breakfast/lunch.
DSC_1832
We ordered two pizzas, 3 different types of dessert, and a slider on the side.

For pizza we got a margherita and four cheese
DSC_1833
DSC_1834
Both were delicious.

And the dessert…
DSC_1835
DSC_1842
DSC_1837
The Milanese really know how to satisfy a sweet tooth.

And you can’t forget to take coffee break too!
DSC_1839
Moccacino

and a cappucino
DSC_1841

All of this was to prepare us for a big walk around town.

We went to see Duomo, and actually went inside.

The inside also instills awe.
DSC_1852
DSC_1855

The stained glass has such beautiful rich colors
DSC_1870

Afterwards we walked around the huge shopping plaza next to it.

The Zaras in Europe are fancy.
DSC_1883
DSC_1884
In fact this lobby of the Zara was like a hotel lobby. I was waiting for the bell hops to jump out of the bushes.

And for my last dinner in Milan, we went to Il Verde.
DSC_1895
DSC_1894
It was a nice homey little place. The risotto a la Milanese was a little bit too salty, but the brazino was delicious.

Of course you need to start off with some bread and charcuterie.
DSC_1898
DSC_1900
Not as loud and flamboyant as the charcuterie at Il Pomodorino, but this one was also good. It had a quiet confidence.

The brazino
DSC_1902
DSC_1905
DSC_1903
The fish was tender and buttery, but look at the tomatoes! Have you ever seen such red and luscious tomatoes? They were crispy and juicy. You got a nice crunch out of them when you bit into it, but they were also sweet.

Il Verde’s version of the risotto a la Milanese
DSC_1906
DSC_1907
It felt more homey, but slightly too heavy handed on the salt.

And for dessert we ordered amaretto semifreddo and tiramisu
DSC_1908
DSC_1909
It was a pretty enchanting last night in Milan.

Leave a Reply

