Burger adventures in NYC: The Black Label Burger

Last weekend I was back in New York. It was a pretty chill weekend. I got a hair cut and tried out something called the Black Label Burger at Minetta Tavern, which was touted as the “best burger in NYC”.

Minetta Tavern was a nice little place. It actually felt like a tavern in every aspect of the word; it was crowded and noisy.

But the food was quite tasty, and if it weren’t so hard to get a table there for brunch on the weekend, maybe I’d even go back there.

We tried a few different things in addition to the black label burger, including huitres & crepinettes and brioche French toast

The huitres and crepinettes – oysters and sausage
DSC_1436
It was a nice way to start off brunch. I imagine it would also go well with a few bloody marys

The oysters were really fresh.
DSC_1438
I could eat a plate full of them all by myself.

And the truffled pork sausages had a nice consistency of fat, making them full of juiciness.
DSC_1439
DSC_1441
Although I couldn’t really taste the truffle in them.

All gone!
DSC_1442
It was so tempting to order another plate.

The brioche french toast
DSC_1447
DSC_1448
It wasn’t as sweet as other french toasts I’ve had. In addition, the brioche felt heavier than others I’ve had. But, surprisingly, it was a really light and refreshing french toast – not too sweet, and hint of orange from the zest made it a nice way to finish brunch.

Finally, the black label burger, made with dry-aged beef and caramelized onions
DSC_1449
DSC_1450
My verdict: It was a good solid burger, but I don’t know if I would call it the best burger in New York. Yes, the dry-aged beef made the patty especially juicy and savory, but it almost felt a little naked. Perhaps I enjoy my sauces a bit too much, but I almost felt that there was something missing about the burger since you had to add your own ketchup/mustard/mayo. Speaking of mustard, they do have great house made mustard. Not to mention, the fries are really good too.

One thought on “Burger adventures in NYC: The Black Label Burger

Leave a Reply

