Longman & Eagle and The Whistler, a Chicago post

I know it must seem like I spend all my time in NYC from my post, and I don’t spend nearly enough time exploring Chicago like I should. So it is a bit rarer when I get to go to new places in Chicago. In addition, it’s also hard to find people to go with. Good friends are hard to come by.

Good food, on the other hand, isn’t that hard to find if you know where to look. However, some time there’s a wait. So if that’s the case, why not go to a nearby bar? And if you’re at Longman & Eagle, you might as well go to The Whistler for pre-dinner drinks.
2012-09-07 19.56.07
The whistler is a nice little bar, there’s live music and lots of craft beers there. One my friends there, Joy got a Malaysian (I think it was Malaysian, or rather, it was some southeast Asian country) stout. It had a really nice chocolate-y flavor.

I ended up trying some new drink here, amaro flight. There was an NPR article on it about how bartenders like to drink it. Personally, I think amaro is too coughsyrup-y for me. But I do see why it’s a good after dinner digestif, it’s bitter enough
2012-09-07 19.34.57
Amaro, two ways.

Afterwards, we headed over to Longman & Eagle. So it seems like L&E is really only fun if you go with a group of people, that way you get to sample more dishes.
2012-09-07 21.05.16
Although, I don’t think it’s bad date spot, but it is a little noisy if you’re looking for a quiet evening.

(Sorry my photos are bad this time around. Poor lighting, so I’m trying to use fewer photos)

Start (or end) with a cheese plate.
2012-09-07 21.10.38
Artisanal Cheese Selection, Fruit Mostarda, Crostini

Then follow it with some duck and sweetbreads.
2012-09-07 21.31.33
Duck Meatloaf, Savory Peach Puree, Braising Greens, Sunnyside Quail Egg, Confit Pearl Onions, Molasses Vinaigrette

2012-09-07 21.31.06
Buffalo Sweetbreads, Aerated Ranch, Hot Sauce, Thumbelina Carrots, Micro Celery

So probably between these two, the sweetbreads were better. The buffalo sauce was really a nice bar snack and the aerated ranch was a really nice touch. It felt pretty light and I can see it being a great bar snack. So far, I’ve had very good experiences with sweetbreads. The duck meatloaf wasn’t bad, but there was something about it having a slightly heavy smoked taste that I wasn’t as fond of.

And for the entree,
2012-09-07 21.56.40
The Piglet, Stonefruit-Heirloom Tomato Relish, Corn-Bacon Risotto, Smoked Pimenton Oil

This was not a bad dish. Although, the other person in my group who got it said he wasn’t too big of a fan. I thought it was well seasoned and reasonably balanced. The risotto and the tomatoes were good. The only thing I can really think of that turned me off was that it had a really heavy brisket-y/smokey taste that was just a bit overpowering. But, otherwise I was fairly happy with it. It wasn’t anything out of this world, but it was a good entree.

Leave a Reply

